Eternal Relevance And The Last Starfighter

Bear with me on this one….

The Last Starfighter
Stars
Lance Guest, Dan O’Herlihy, Catherine Mary Stewart
Director Nick Castle   Writer Johnathan R. Beteul
Released July 1984 by Universal Pictures

Plot Points
A) Anti-social behavior by intelligent adolescents is always
a harbinger of heroism which will be duly recognized by wiser
creatures than us.

B) To get a girl to fall in love with you, simply unleash a feral
clone of yourself to sulk, sneer, and punch bullies in the face.
Later, when she finds out that you’re really a nice guy who also
just happened to have saved the Universe, she won’t mind
having been deceived.

C) Only one person in the world can save us. We’d better come
up with some really, really clever way of identifying that person
before Doom finds us.

Rebuttal
When I lost myself in virtual worlds, I knew it all was just an
illusion. I didn’t seek to be a hero. These ersatz worlds have a
simpler physics that anyone with time and dedication could
master. There’s a great sense of freedom that comes from such
mastery. Or should I say power? A lightness maybe. A counter-
weight to the real world when it is ready to bear upon us before
we are ready for it….

A Song
Oh, my lovely girl, will you walk with me
Out into the night where there’s so much to see?
Oh, my lovely girl, just look into my eyes.
Pay no mind, dear, to the screaming sky.
You knew, my lovely girl, that the world must end,
But kiss me tenderly and let us both pretend
That we could live forever,
That we could live forever.

Conclusion
There are no happy endings, only happy beginnings, and
we are all given ours but cannot get it back. So, no matter
what they say, what they do, how they tempt you, or how
they chasten you
                           don’t
                           let go of who you are.

Copyright 2010 by Michael Marsters.
All rights reserved.

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

