The Infinite Blues

I’ve been down so far
That I cannot guide my way with even the brightest star.
The deep, dark ocean fails,
That salty, reflecting void I cannot begin to swim
Until a voice calls out to me–
            I know that voice is going to fail me,
But I’ll ride it like a steamship through the night
Until the Devil himself shivers out a cry
From his cold, dank, unplumbed abode:
      “Love and love thyself
      ‘Til the surrounding gloom expires.”
I got the fire. I’ll set the atmosphere ablaze
And illuminate infinity.

Copyright 2011 by Michael Marsters.
All rights reserved.

15 thoughts on “The Infinite Blues

  1. These are stunning words “I got the fire. I’ll set the atmosphere ablaze
    And illuminate infinity.” – the power is WITHIN each of us to make our lives a joy.

    Thanks for the inspiration my friend xx

    Like

  2. The only good thing about being down is that we seem to get better poetry from it than we do the high spots. I suppose we are too busy enjoying those high spots to write about it. Good poem though!

    Like

  3. Thank you for liking my posts. I have read and re-read a number of your poems and like them very much. ‘Illuminate infinity’ is wonderful — the sort of line that lingers in the mind and returns when you least expect it to.

    Like

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

