The Ins and Outs

We are all outcasts in this world.
Somewhere along the way we aspired
To create a place that could be everything
To everyone but is now nothing
To no one.

We are freaks to an ideal,
Beasts to peace and happiness,
A beggar on the golden avenues
Of progress.
We are warped cogs in the perfect
Machine–if only we could be
Perfect too . . . .

I don’t want that. I just want
To hold you, to wrap my arms
Around something real, to fall
Asleep knowing it doesn’t matter
To you that I am not a better
Person than I am.

Copyright 2011 by Michael Marsters.
All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on “The Ins and Outs

  1. I don’t know how much it was your intention to create mysterious ambiguity in this poem, but that’s how I read it, and it is why I like it so much. The lines I keep coming back to are:

    To create a place that could be everything
    To everyone but is now nothing
    To no one.

    I keep coming back to them because ‘nothing to no one’ could be read as a double negative. And so I read your poem as the writer being unaware that maybe they have created that place and are, in fact, ‘everything to everyone’, which ties in with the idea of me reading intriguing ideas into your poem, that maybe you didn’t know were there…if you follow my somewhat convoluted line of thought! And the final few lines are (unambiguously) lovely.

    Like

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

