An Alternate Explanation for Guilt

The ghost who haunts my kitchen is throwing a fit again.
It’s thwarting my attempt to prepare a simple apple pie.
“Oh, not this again,” the apparition wails,
“I won’t be a party to this.”

“Well,” I say, “I just want a little sugar on my tongue,”
so tell me, “Why should the dead be concerned about
what I do with my life?”

“Why don’t the living listen to anyone but themselves?”
Because we’re too busy with living, I suppose.

When I finally convince the obstinate spirit to allow
a compromise–a carrot cake, not the healthiest
confection but one with vegetables!–it relents,
and the drawers, the cupboards open again;
the knobs on the oven turn freely once more.

“Do what you must,” sighs the ghost who haunts
my kitchen.

I’m not sad. I try not to be sad.
However, I really could use some comfort food.

*

Copyright 2013 by Michael Marsters.
All rights reserved.

14 thoughts on “An Alternate Explanation for Guilt

  1. Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

