Ode to Failure?

“It is better to fail in originality than to succeed
in imitation. He who has never failed somewhere,
that man cannot be great.”
–Herman Melville

*

Superlative, anxious falter, how you grace me:
You, the irons in my ambitious fire, thrust deeper
than sorrow into the furious embers;
You, the undetectable fracture in love;
You, the tidal moaning over the graves
of causes deferred.

The silence elongates you, unfurls you
into a shivering frailty. How heavy
your notes. How seizing
your melody.

When the whole world opens wide, I
close my eyes. How alone.
However, your immediate chasm
does not swallow, only invites a root.

I, no riveted tree, no fist from one plot,
Will hide from the sun when I need reprieve,
But even then the horizon, like a flowering limb,
Bends to a precocious whim.

*

Copyright 2011, 2014 by Michael Marsters.
All rights reserved.

8 thoughts on “Ode to Failure?

  1. I love the images that come from the words, the cadence, the emotion that rises and ebbs like an ocean tide. You say much that I barely understand, but your words stir my desire to follow. Blessings to you, Michael…

    Like

  2. This one just begs to be read out loud, Michael … such wonderful rhythms and – even on the page – sounds with words. You prove over and over how language is a thing of beauty no matter what it is expressing. Thank you for your visit to my blog – I so appreciate you taking the time and interest. All the best, Diane

    Like

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

