Art is Useless

 
(I was inspired to repost this piece after reading Just how did the writer in me get born? by Infinite Living. Click on through and give her a read.)
 
 
Nietzsche-truth-ugly
 
 
Art is as useless as cake
–as useless as admiring a forested landscape
–as useless as lust
–as useless as the terror that draws us to a roller coaster ride.

I am not curious,
because art is useless.
I’ve never loved someone who did not love me,
because art is useless.
I’ve never felt alone,
because art is useless.
I won’t tell a comforting lie to spare your feelings,
because art is useless.

Art doesn’t obey; doesn’t laugh or cry;
doesn’t give birth to a screaming child;
doesn’t starve; doesn’t riot for justice;
doesn’t reach out to absolve us with its dying breath;

Art is as useless as the beholding eye.
 
 

Your thoughts are welcomed and appreciated.

